Presented by Rumble

Director’s Lab 2016

February 15 – 19th, 2016

Workshop, Mentorship Program

Progress Lab 1422 (PL1422)

The 2016 Directors’ Lab was geared specifically towards Vancouver-based emerging directors who want to get rigorous with the foundations of their craft, unhindered by production and scenographic considerations. Using an established text as a working model, the Lab focused on the director’s preparation process, early stages of rehearsal and assessment and critique of the work. Over five days, participants discussed principles of directing, examined and analyzed text, rehearsed scenes with an ensemble of actors and reflected on the processes.

Master Director Kim Collier
Kim is a director, creator, teacher, actress and the co-founder of Electric Company Theatre where she was Artistic Producer for 15 years. The last few years she was Resident Artist at Canadian Stage Theatre and the inaugural director of their new MFA in Directing with York University. Recently she directed a new interpretation of Sweeney Todd for Vancouver Opera, Saint Joan (Arts Club Theatre), The Great Gatsby (Theatre Calgary), and Hamlet (Bard on the Beach). With Electric Company she was the co-creator / director of a large body of work including: Tear The Curtain (a film / theatre hybrid), No Exit (Jean Paul Sartre’s play transformed into a live film theatre experience) and Studies in Motion. She also directed a film version of their play The Score with Screen Siren Pictures and CBC. Kim was honored to receive an Honorary Doctorate of Letters last June from Thompson Rivers University. She is the recipient of the prestigious Elinore & Lou Siminovitch Prize for Directing, four Jessie Richardson Theatre Awards for Direction, and (with Electric Company) five for Outstanding Production, three for co-writing, and numerous Innovation Awards. She is the recipient of the Vancouver Mayors Arts Award and is a graduate of Studio 58 as an actress.

Master Director

Kim Collier


The participating directors in the 2016 Lab were:

Rebecca Ballarin
Derek Chan
Tatiana Carnevale
Katrina Darychuk
Julie McIsaac
Mily Mumford
Conor Wylie
Andrea Yu